Artist: Joey DeFrancesco
Album: Home for the Holidays

Keyboardist Joey DeFrancesco will release his first Christmas album, Home for the Holidays, on JD Music on October 28. The recording, jointly produced by Joey and his wife Gloria DeFrancesco, is a double album featuring traditional Christmas songs such as “Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer,” “Merry Christmas Baby,” “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town” and “Blue Christmas” plus new, original DeFrancesco compositions: the title track, “Home for the Holidays,” and “Christmas at 3 a.m.”

On various tracks DeFrancesco performs solo, with his trio, quartet and quintet. The core Trio comprises guitarist Jeff Parker, drummer George Fludas and DeFrancesco on Hammond organ, with guest musicians in other configurations including John Webber on bass, Jerry Weldon and George Coleman Sr. on tenor saxophones, and George Coleman Jr. on drums. Two songs recorded in California, “I’ll Be Home For Christmas” and “The Twelve Days of Christmas,” feature Roman Banda (drums), Jose ‘Papo’ Rodriguez (percussion), Steve Wilkerson (flute) and Tony Banda (bass). DeFrancesco also plays piano and trumpet, and sings on “Blue Christmas” and “Merry Christmas Baby.”

Track Listing

Disc One-The Party

Mistletoe and Holly • Home for the Holidays • Baby It’s Cold Outside • Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas The Twelve Days of Christmas • What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve? • Christmas at 3 a.m. • Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer • Santa Claus is Coming to Town The Christmas Song • Merry Christmas Baby • I’ll Be Home for Christmas • Blue Christmas

Disc Two-The Tradition

Joy to the World • O Little Town of Bethlehem • It Came Upon a Midnight Clear • We Three Kings • O Come All Ye Faithful • Silent Night • What Child Is This • Away In a Manger • The First Noel • O Holy Night